Current Assignments
 Chairman, Karnataka State Innovation Council
 Member State Planning Commission, Karnataka
 Chairman, standing committee National Mission and technology in education Govt. of India
 Advisor to the Office of the Director, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
 Advisor, Karnataka Electricity Regulatory Commission, Bangalore
 Advisor, Power Research and Development Consultants Pvt. Ltd. (PRDC)
 Chairman, National Mission on Intelligent Transportation Systems
 Member, National Mission on e-Mobility
 Member, National Mission on Power Electronics
 Member, National Mission on Automation Systems Technologies
 Member, Editorial Board of IST Journal
 Hon. Member, Harvard Alumni Angel’s Club
Past Engagements
 Vice Chancellor, Visvesvaraya Technological University, Belgaum, Karnataka, India, [July 2007 – July 2010]
 Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India, [1969 -2011]
 Visiting Faculty, University of Calgary, Canada
 Visiting Fellow, National University Singapore
 Visiting Professor, EPFL, Lausanne Switzerland
Chaired or served on the Committees at
 Ministry of Communication & Information Technology (MClT)
 Council of Scientific & Industrial Research
 Ministry of Human Resource Development
 Center for Development of Advance Computing
 University Grants Commission
 All India Council for Technical Education
 Steel Authority of India Ltd.
 Karnataka Power Corporation
 Central Power Research Institute
 Electronics Corporation of India Ltd. Hyderbad
 Karnataka Govt.
 Other selection committees of Department of Defense, Department of Space and
Ministry of Communication & Information Technology
 Member, Strategic Planning Committee, IIT Roorkee
 Member, Board of C. R. Rao Institute for Statistics, Mathematics and Computer Science
 Member, Army Technology Board
 Member, Innovation Development Committee at MCIT, New Delhi
 Member, National Committee on Power Electronics, NAMPET
 Member, National Committee on Automation System Technology, ASTEC
 Member, representing Karnataka at Creativity World Forum Meeting, Europe
 Member, Karnataka State Awards Committee for 6 years
 Member, Under Graduate Board, National Accreditation Board (NABET), New Delhi
 Member, Technical Advisory Committee, Karnataka Power Transmission Company Ltd.
 Chairman, Ethics Committee, Jain Hospitals
Professional Affiliations
 Fellow of the Institution of Engineers, lEE, UK
 Fellow of the Institution of Engineers (India)
 Chairman, IEEE Bangalore Section
 Member of Executive Committee, IEEE Asia Pacific region for 20+ Years
 Chairman/Member of International lEEE Undergraduate and Graduate Teaching Awards Committee, New York
 Chairman – IEEE India Council
 Member – IEEE Education Activities Board, New York
 Senior Associate, National Institute of Advanced Studies (NIAS),
 Founder Member, Indian Academy of Mathematical Simulation in Engineering and Science
 Honorary Fellow, National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bangalore
 Member Editorial Board, ISTE
 IEEE Millennium Award
 Lifetime Achievement Award by the Systems Society
 Outstanding Power Engineer Award by the IEEE Power Engineering Society
 Visveswaraya Award by the Institution of Engineers
 Outstanding Service Award by the IEEE Power Engineering Society
 Gold Medal Award by Central Board of Irrigation and Power, Govt. of India
 Certificate of Merit by Central Board of Irrigation and Power, Govt. of India
 Outstanding Young Person award by Bangalore Garden Jaycees
Bachelor of Engineering in Electrical Engineering, Bangalore University, 2 nd Rank [1966]
Master of Electrical Engineering in Power Systems, Indian Institute of Science, 1 st Rank [1968]
Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Science [1973]