The IEEE CPMT Bangalore Chapter Overview
The IEEE Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology Society is the leading international forum for scientists and engineers engaged in the research, design and development of revolutionary advances in microsystems packaging and manufacturing. The CPMT Society promotes close cooperation and exchange of technical information among its members and others through technical conferences and workshops, peer-reviewed publications, and collaboration with other organizations. It is one of 38 technical Societies within the IEEE.
The IEEE CPMT Society’s Bangalore Chapter was founded in Dec 2004.
Representatives from VLSI design, Package design, Board design, EDA, Test Services and Reliability analysis attended the launch of the Chapter on 10th Dec 2004 at Texas Instruments, Bangalore.
Dr. Surendra Pal, President of the Bangalore IEEE presided over the event. Prof. Madhavan Swaminathan, Deputy Director of Georgia Tech’s Packaging Research Center (GT PRC) launched the chapter. K Raghu Raghunathan (Texas Instruments) and Suresh V Subramanyam (Intel) with support from the local Industry, GT PRC, & India Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore organized the chapter.
The objective of the chapter was to raise the awareness on the semiconductor packaging design and manufacturing related aspects across the academia and industry. In 2005, a weekend introductory program spread over 2 months was conducted at IISc, outlining the multi-disciplinary aspects related to design, assembly processes, design and simulation tools, and reliability of semiconductor packaging. The course covered the areas of Electrical, Thermo-mechanical, Manufacturing, and Reliability. The course was managed by Prof N J Rao (IISc) and Arun Chandrasekhar (Intel), with Mr S L N Murthy (ECAD), Prof Seetharam (MSRIT), Kunal Goray (GE), and Suresh Subramanyam (Intel) co-instructing as one-team. The course was attended by 20+ from Industry.
In Dec 2005, the EDAPS (Electrical Design of Advanced Packaging and Systems) workshop was held in Bangalore. This was the first major workshop organized by the Bangalore CPMT Chapter. It was a 2-day workshop attended by over 100 participants from academia and industry; with 10 overseas speakers and 4 local speakers. This was a significant milestone for the chapter which was about 1 year old.
From 2005, the Chapter co-sponsored multiple conferences/workshops.
In 2014, EDAPS was again held in Bangalore. It was attended by over 140 participants representing 13 countries. In 2018, EDAPS will be held in Chandigarh, India.
Technical talks by domain experts from Academia and Research organizations are arranged periodically, sponsored by the Chapter. Prof Dipanjan Gope from IISc has been an active member of the Chapter. He organized the 2014 EDAPS working together with Arun Chandrasekhar, SLN Murthy, Anil Lingambudi (IBM), and Suresh V Subramanyam.
The current office-bearers of the Chapter are Suresh V Subramanyam (Chair), SLN Murthy (Vice Chair), Arkaprovo Das (Secretary) and Anil B. Lingambudi (Treasurer). Currently, the chapter has 16 members.
Over the next few years, the Chapter is focused on exploring cross-society collaboration and partnership opportunities and expanding its membership base. It also aims to attract the youth from academia into the domain of microsystems packaging.