Educational Background

Degree Institution Year
B.S. (E.E) University of Wisconsin, Madison 1965
M.S. (E.E.) University of Wisconsin, Madison 1967
Ph.D. (E.E.) University of Wisconsin, Madison 1969

Career Profile

Institution Location Position Period
Marquette University Milwaukee, USA Asst. Prof. 1969-70
Concordia University Montreal, Canada Asst. — Prof. 1970-80
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Canada Professor 1980-89
Centre for AI & Robotics Bangalore, India Director 1989-2000
Tata Consultancy Services Hyderabad, India Executive Vice President 2000-09
University of Texas at Dallas
IIT Hyderabad
Dallas, USA
Hyderbad, India
Chaired Professor
Distinguished Professor
2009 —

Awards and Honors

  • 1976: Prix Georges Montefiore, Association of Belgian Electrical Engineers, for best original research in electrical engineering during the period 1970-75, for the book “Feedback Systems: Input-Output Properties”
  • 1981: E. W. R. Steacie Memorial Prize, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, for being an outstanding young researcher.
  • 1983: Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), “For contributions to the stability theory of linear and nonlinear distributed systems”
  • 1984: Frederick Emmons Terman Award, American Society for Engineering Education, for combining teaching and research excellence.
  • 1987: Best Paper Award, Society of Instrumentation and Control Engineers, Japan.
  • 1992: Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences
  • 1992: Fellow, Indian National Academy of Engineering
  • 1994: Fellow, Indian National Academy of Science
  • 1995: Distinguished Service Citation, College of Engineering, University of Wisconsin
  • 1997: Fellow, Third World Academy of Sciences, Trieste, Italy
  • 1997: Scientist of the Year, Defence Research and Development Organisation, Government of India.
  • 2000: Hendrik W. Bode Lecture Prize, IEEE Control Systems Society, “For seminal contributions to systems science and engineering, especially nonlinear, robust and optimal control, robotics, and statistical learning theory”
  • 2002: Best Paper Prize (Methodology) from the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC) for the paper entitled “Randomized algorithms for robust controller synthesis using statistical learning theory.” This paper was adjudged to be the best “methodology” (theory) paper published in the journal Automatica during the period 1999-2002.
  • 2004: Named as one of “Forty Tech Gurus” in the November 2004 issue of IEEE Spectrum.
  • 2005: Jawaharlal Nehru Centenary Lecture Prize, Indian National Science Academy.
  • 2008: IEEE Control Systems Award, for “Promulgation of control science and engineering and contributions to robust control, robotics and statistical learning theory”
  • 2011: Harry H. Nyquist Lecture Award, American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
  • 2012: Fellow, The Royal Society, United Kingdom.
  • 2012: Fellow, The Institute of Physics, United Kingdom.
  • 2012: Rufus Oldenburger Medal, American Society of Mechanical Engineering, “For his fundamental contributions to robust control theory, specifically L1-optimal control theory for linear control systems; nonlinear control theory, especially input-output stability theory; robotics, including the control of flexible beams; statistical learning theory and machine learning; and computational biology”
  • 2013 John Ragazzini Education Award, American Automatic Control Council, “For outstanding contributions to automatic control education through publication of textbooks and research monographs”
  • 2015: Jawaharlal Nehru Science Fellowship, Government of India
  • 2017: Fellow, International Federation of Automatic Control
  • 2017: Named as 125 “People of Impact” during the 125th anniversary of the Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Wisconsin